Testimonials & Reviews

4.92/5

Verma Spine

Board Certified Orthopedic Spine Surgeon serving patients in Long Beach and Orange County

169 total reviews

Verma Spine always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 169 reviews with an average rating of 4.92 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Verma Spine below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Sheila V.
Submitted 07/15/20
Dr. Kushagra Verma is a phenomenal surgeon. I was referred to him by my General Practitioner. After an MRI Dr. Verma recommended that that I needed An Anterior Cervical Discectomy and Fusion or ACDF on C5 and C6 on my neck. At first I was terrified but Dr. Verma reassured me that I was in good hands. He not only stood by his words but he made the whole process from surgery to post op a breeze. Thank you Dr. Verma!
Patrick M.
Submitted 07/10/20
I can not say enough good things about Dr Verma. He is a remarkable surgeon who gave me my life back. The back fusion was not an easy surgery for me but Dr. Verma was always available to answer my questions and assure me that things would get better and that is exactly what happened. Aside from being a phenomenal surgeon, he is a truly nice person and he listens to his patients. Unfortunately for me, Dr. Verma moved to California and since I live in Washington during a pandemic I am unable to see him. I called his office today asking for his help on a different back issue and he returned my call in 10 minutes...who does that? He remembered me from 2016 and gave me the name of an excellent surgeon in my area and he would be following my progress. Thank you Dr. Verma for what you have done for me and all your patients.
Adam G.
Submitted 07/09/20
I was suffering for 10 weeks with pretty severe Symptoms-sciatica, limping, difficulty walking, painful to drive or sit down. I was miserable. I was referred to Dr Verma by my GP after all attempts had failed. I tried chiropractor, steroids, etc. Dr Verma looked at my MRI, diagnosed the problem, offered several solutions, and allowed me to make the best decision for myself. He took his time and answered all questions I had prior to surgery. He treated me like a friend. I felt like he really cared about me. He gave me his cellphone number too in case I had further questions before and after the surgery. His nurse, Gia was beyond helpful as well with scheduling surgery, answering questions, being available by cellphone in the evening etc. Real first rate care. Surgery was a success and I’m walking without pain 2-3 miles a day. I’m at week 3 post op and feel fantastic. Dr Verma and his staff are one of a kind and I highly recommend him to anyone with back/spine/sciatica issues.
Sandra S.
Submitted 07/05/20
My back surgery was a huge success just as Dr. Verma expected. I am now walking pain free and I would highly recommend Dr. Verma. When I went to see Dr. Verma I could barely walk. This was just before hospitals were closing their surgery facilities due to Covid-19. Fortunately, due to the need for urgent surgery, Dr. Verma got me in the last day they were open.
Don M.
Submitted 06/24/20
I saw Dr. Verma for lower back pain. He treated me for about a year with non-surgical methods to see if that would solve the problem. When it didn't he performed surgery that solved the problem. It has been 3 months since the surgery and I have no back issues. I can play golf pain free. I am completely happy with the service I receive.
Aaron R.
Submitted 06/24/20
Dr. Verma was great but the wait was a bit longer than I would have expected.
Christine B.
Submitted 06/17/20
Thank you and your team for everything you all have done. Dr Verma and his staff have been excellent to work with. They quickly took me in as a patient, and were able to schedule and perform my surgery immediately. They worked quickly with my insurance, so that I didn't have to stress about anything. Dr Verma has continuously check in on my progress to ensure my recovery. Everyday my foot and leg are getting stronger, thanks to Dr Verma!
Shannon K.
Submitted 06/12/20
Thank you and your team for everything you all have done for our daughter. At 14 years old I cannot begin to tell you how many people ask "why didnt you go to Children's?" My answer is always simple...it's your personal care and attention to detail. You treater her as though she was your own and for that we cannot thank you enough.
Peter F.
Submitted 06/12/20
I was referred to Dr. Verma by my family doctor, due to tingling and numbness on my left side. Xray and mri indicated that i had cervical stenosis. Dr. Verma explained thoroughly and also referred write ups on this ailment. He suggested therapy since i was not comfortable with having surgery right off the bat. After a few sessions, with no results, I decided to have the surgical procedure. The procedure went very well! Dr. Verma was there when i woke to see how i was doing and to answer questions. He also came back before discharge. His bedside manner was excellent, and that speaks volumes to me. He also gave me his personal phone number for questions or concerns that i may have. Texts and phone calls were all answered during my recover period. This was an excellent overall experience! Thank you Dr. Verma!!!
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
Dr. Verma is a great surgeon. He took wonderful care of my husband. Listened to his concerns and took great care pre and post surgery. He even called me after my husbands surgery to make sure everything was going good. His bed side manner and professionalism was great. I would highly recommend him to family and friends if they ever found themselves in need of this level of care. In addition he was always timely for pre and post care follow-up appointments.
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
Four months of frustration with loss of feeling and motor skills in my hands and legs, led me to meet Dr. Verma. Within minutes of seeing my neck MRI, he was able to diagnose, and suggest the best options to help me return to normal day to day life. I was in an accident last year and like most people, I felt fine right after and didn't think anything until I started noticing small things in my legs and hands that started working differently with less ability in both. Dr. Verma was extremely personable in our initial consultation and was very up front and honest with my options. After doing my due diligence, and learning about Dr. Verma's skills, experience, and outreach, I knew I was in the best hands and decided to move forward with my ACDF procedure. Dr. Verma and everyone at his office, worked diligently to help me get the best appointment available and made me feel like I was the only patient they were focusing on. This is HUGE in my eyes. The day of my procedure, I was a bit anxious but everything from the pre-op to post-op wheelchair ride out, was extremely comfortable. Especially Dr. Verma's follow ups, checking in on me after a swift operation. I really felt like he was my personal surgeon and we went through this together. He was always patient with all of my questions, concerns, and ALWAYS asked if there was anything else I was feeling or thinking about. I'm confident you will not find a surgeon with a more personal concierge approach to his practice. I just got back home from a beautiful long walk outside with my niece and nephew and I'm feeling grateful to have met Dr. Verma and I highly recommend him as a surgeon.
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
On Sept. 10, 2019 Dr. Verma performed an Anterior Cervival Discectomy and Fusion at the C6 - C7 level in my neck. A family member who is in the medical field prior to my decision to have the surgery vetted Dr. Verma. All individuals contacted at UCI and Memorial Medical Center reported back high praise for Dr. Verma's surgical expertise and all around professionalism. My experience leading up to and following my surgery has been nothing but tremendous. Dr. Verma handled himself much different from other surgeons I have dealt with in the past. Attentive, compassionate and supportive. Do to a very active lifestyle my lower back will need some work in the future. Dr. Verma will be the guy. P.S. It's been only 5 weeks and I'm back in gym! Nice.
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
Dr. Verma isn’t just your surgeon for a day, he is your partner in the long haul of this entire process. My husband, Jason came to him with a herniated disc between C6/C7 with a lot of pain and numbness down his arm and into his fingers, and weakening of the arm muscles by the day. Dr Verma first worked with Jason to find solutions before opting for surgery; that spoke volumes to us. Once surgery was in fact determined, he worked with us through the options of fusion vs disc replacement, talked through surgical location options to make us feel most comfortable, and worked diligently with our insurance up until the day before the procedure. When the insurance company gave us issues, Dr Verma immediately got them on the line to work it out. He was our advocate and our champion, and we felt like we had a true partner. Day of the disc replacement, Dr Verma was highly available, communicative, and reassuring. We saw him multiple times prior to the procedure to go through the process and ask him absolutely any questions we still had. As the spouse, I spent a good amount of time in the waiting room. While The Los Alamitos Center had a really great color-coding system to notify you of their process (pre-op, in surgery, post-op, etc.) Dr Verma himself came out well before the system was updated to tell me of the procedure’s success. I was in the waiting room for hours with many different families, and I was the only one to get a personal update from the doctor. Everyone else just got calls from the nurse station. Dr Verma came out multiple times to update and reassure me. He was personal and open, and I felt I truly had a compassionate partner in the process. He even gave me his cell phone and encouraged me to call for anything. All this, and my husband truly had a “routine” and successful surgery. Dr Verma is incredibly skilled and knowledgeable, but also truly knows how to work with a patient and their family. I don’t know many doctors that succeed at both. I would trust Dr. Verma again, and absolutely recommend him as a surgeon.
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
In addition to his outstanding credentials, Dr. Kushagra Verma has much to recommend him. Upon first meeting him, one has a sense of a compassionate, caring physician interested in his patient as a person. His analysis of your specific physical situation is spot on. In my case, he explained my ddiagnosis and treatment options very carefully. He encouraged me to set up an appointment to include family members so that they, as well as myself, could better understand the diagnosis and proposed surgery. Not only that, but he provided me with his personal cell phone number so that I could call him with any questions or concerns. How many doctors do that??? You would think, being a surgeon, that his automatic solution would be surgery. Not so. He considers not only the option of surgery but also the extent of the surgery very carefully, finally choosing only the most necessary procedure to obtain optimum results. Neither does he try to influence your decision. He provides you with many options and explains the probable outcome of each. He also encourages you to get second opinions. I am extremely pleased with Dr. Verma and would not hesitate to recommend him highly to others.
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
Dr Verma performed back surgery on my husband last December. My husband had been in pain for over 15 years and his pain was severely interfering with our lives. After 6 months he is living a normal life which includes long bicycle rides (50 miles) that he had given up on.Thank you Dr Verma. The incredible thing about Dr Verma besides his outstanding surgical skills, is the care and concern for patients. Dr Verma called daily after the surgery to see how my husband was doing and would answer any and all questions. If a care or question came up we could always call him and he would get back to us immediately. He even called me, the wife/caregiver, to see how I was doing and to hear my feedback on my husbands recovery. Dr Verma earns a 5 star rating from me.
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
Dr. Verma is a kind and caring doctor. He listens to your questions and concerns and will answer any and all questions. I had a lumbar fusion and I was pain free within two weeks of my surgery. I had a visit from Dr. Verma each day I was hospitalized and the nurse told me that Dr. Verma called three times the day after my surgery to find out how I was doing. He left his contact information for me and the nurses while I was in the hospital and because he left his contact information for the nurses they were very impressed with Dr. Verma. He followed up with phone calls to my home to be sure I was doing well. I would not hesitate to recommend Dr. Verma to anyone with spinal problems.
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
My mother was in a wheelchair for almost three years until she had hip replacement surgery in June of 2018. As she began walking she began having excruciating pain in her lower back and was recommended to Dr. Verma. Of all the doctors we have been to see, Dr. Verma is by far the most patient, caring man by far. My mother is in early stages of dementia and he was abundantly patient with her. He took the time to explain in detail what was needed to help relieve her pain. She underwent surgery in November 2018 and has been slowly getting back her ability to walk. Dr. Verma even called her personally after she was home about a week just to check to see how she was doing. We had a medication issue with our pharmacy after her surgery and he was quick to get that fixed as well. I highly, highly recommend Dr. Verma to anyone who is in need of this type of doctor.
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
On April 16 2019 my husband had to have ACDF surgery on his neck, Mike had never in his life had any surgery, we met Dr Verma and liked him immediately, he explained everything in detail, the day of surgery he spent time with me, he has great bedside manners which some people look for, we needed a honest educated doctor and we found that in Dr Kushagra Verma. Mike has since had a few check up's the doctor is honest, thoughtful, he knows what he is talking about when it comes to this type of surgery, genuinely....Dr Verma is the best. I have referred 2 friends to him, and the office staff is just as 5***** as he is. Dr Verma is the best if I ever needed ortho surgery I'd have him do it in a heartbeat.
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
I swore I would never have back surgery after witnessing my mother go through 4 surgeries without successful outcomes. However, in 2018, the pain in my legs drove me to seeks help. I tried Physical Therapy, Chiropractic treatments, and epidural injections. Nothing helped, so I went to see Dr. Verma who shares a practice with an orthopedic surgeon I had a successful experience with 7 years ago. Dr Verma is not only a great surgeon, but also takes time to patiently explain what is wrong, how it can be fixed, and the options available for a successful outcome. I saw him about a half dozen times before scheduling surgery—his patience, and ability to explain the situation is very reassuring. I had spine surgery by Dr. Verma in June of 2019, and as soon as I woke from the surgery, I knew the pain in my legs was gone. Now, I am looking forward to traveling, and leading an active lifestyle pain-free, thanks to Dr. Verma!
Anonymous ..
Submitted 06/12/20
When health challenges hit our family, we not only needed a partner in the healthcare with shared values but also with the best professional practice in the industry. We got both in Dr. Verma. He became the source of calm in the midst of the turbulent and violent health storm our family was in the midst of. There were obvious signs that severe pain had taken its toll on my mother in law and she was starting to slowly give up on life. Thanks Dr. Verma for giving her a new lease on life.